Phillips Graduate University MFT Consortium. The Consortium unites the regional consortia of MFT academic programs throughout California with the mission of enhancing the quality of clinical training to MFT students.

MFT educators examine the various protocols schools use in preparing students for practicum training and collaborate with the community clinical sites that provide the direct clinical experience and supervision to the students.

These regional consortia have been “effective in promoting the quality of practicum training for students pursuing a career in marriage and family therapy [and] in advancing the integrity of the profession and the participation of its members in local and state governance” according to an analysis reported in Phillips’ Progress Journal, 2006.

The MFT Leadership Collaborative

The MFT Consortium has partnered with CAMFT, AAMFT-CA and Phillips Graduate University to implement the California Department of Mental Health’s educational stipend program for MFTs throughout the state. They have formed the MFT Leadership Collaborative and they guide and monitor the State Stipend Program for MFT students.

Members of the MFT Leadership Collaborative include:

José Luis Flores, M.A., Phillips Graduate University
Cathy Atkins, CAMFT,
Nicole A. Botaitis, MS, Anticoh University, Santa Barbara,
Lis De La Rue, Ph.D., University of San Francisco,
Diana Herweck, Psy.D. University of Phoenix,
Julie Hayden, Psy.D., Southern California Seminary, El Cajon
DeAnna Henderson, Ph.D. University of Phoenix,
Paul Jenkins, Ph.D., National University, Sacramento,
Olivia Loewy, Ph.D., AAMFT California Division
Mary Read, Ph.D., CSU, Fullerton
Michele Shepherd, M.A., San Fernando Valley CMH, Inc.
Kathleen Wenger, M.A., Pepperdine University, Irvine
Robert A. Williams, Ph.D., San Francisco State University, 

Regional MFT Consortia

There are eight regional MFT Consortia each with a host school that provides administrative leadership. Each regional MFT Consortium represents the MFT academic programs in their area and has regular meetings facilitated by the host school. Please contact the regional host for more information on an MFT Consortium.

MFT Consortium of San Diego and Imperial Counties

Hosts: Julie Hayden, Psy.D.
Linna Wang, Ph.D.
San Diego State University
Counties: San Diego and Imperial
Website: Click here

2017 meetings will be held on: March 17, May 19, September 15, and December 8.

MFT Consortium of Orange County

Hosts: Kathleen Wenger, M.A.
Mary Read, Ph.D.
Susan Read-Weil, M.A.
Pepperdine University, Irvine Campus
County: Orange
Website: Click here
2017 meetings will be held at Pepperdine University – Irvine Campus on:
January 18, March 15, May 17, July 19, September 20, and November 15

MFT Consortium of the Inland Empire

Hosts: Diana Herweck, Psy.D
University of Phoenix, Southern California Campus
Counties: Riverside and San Bernardino
2017 meetings will be held at University of Phoenix, Ontario campus on:
February 23, May 18, August 17, and December 7

MFT Consortium of Greater Los Angeles

Hosts: José Luis Flores, M.A.
Michele Shepherd, M.A.
Phillips Graduate University, Chatsworth
County: Los Angeles
2017 meetings will be held at Phillips Graduate University on:
March 10, June 2, September 15, and December 1

MFT Consortium of the Central Coast Region

Host: Nicole A. Botaitis, MS, LMFT, LPCC, PPS,
Antioch University, Santa Barbara
Counties: Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo
2017 meetings will be held at Antioch University, Santa Barbara on:
March 13, June 12, September 11, and December 8

MFT Consortium of the Central Valley

Host: DeAnna Henderson, Ph.D.
University of Phoenix, Fresno CA
Counties: Kern, Fresno, Inyo, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, and Tuolumne
2017 meetings will be held on:
March 10, May 19, August 11, and December 8

MFT Consortium of the Bay Area

Hosts: Steven Tierney, Ed.D.
Theresa Raymer, M.S.
California Institute of Integral Studies
Counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Humboldt, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, and San Benito
2017 meetings will be held on:
January 27, April 21

MFT Consortium of Greater Sacramento

Host: Paul Jenkins, Ph.D.,
National University, Sacramento
Counties: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Lassen, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San
Joaquin, Shasta, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba
2017 meetings will be held on:
March 10, June 16, September 8, and January 12, 2018

Share This Page