Phillips Graduate University MFT Consortium. The Consortium unites the regional consortia of MFT academic programs throughout California with the mission of enhancing the quality of clinical training to MFT students.

MFT educators examine the various protocols schools use in preparing students for practicum training and collaborate with the community clinical sites that provide the direct clinical experience and supervision to the students.

These regional consortia have been “effective in promoting the quality of practicum training for students pursuing a career in marriage and family therapy [and] in advancing the integrity of the profession and the participation of its members in local and state governance” according to an analysis reported in Phillips’ Progress Journal, 2006.
 

The MFT Leadership Collaborative

The MFT Consortium has partnered with CAMFT, AAMFT-CA and Phillips Graduate University to implement the California Department of Mental Health’s educational stipend program for MFTs throughout the state. They have formed the MFT Leadership Collaborative and they guide and monitor the State Stipend Program for MFT students.
 

Members of the MFT Leadership Collaborative include:

Jill Epstein, J.D., CAMFT jill@camft.org
José Luis Flores, M.A., Phillips Graduate University jlflores@pgu.edu
Diana Herweck, Psy.D. University of Phoenix, diana.herweck@phoenix.edu
Julie Hayden, Psy.D., Southern California Seminary, El Cajon drjuliehayden@gmail.com
DeAnna Henderson, Ph.D. University of Phoenix, DeAnna.Henderson@phoenix.edu
Paul Jenkins, Ph.D., National University, Sacramento, Pjenkins@nu.edu
Olivia Loewy, Ph.D., AAMFT California Division olivialoewy@aamftca.org
Theresa Raymer, M.S., John F. Kennedy University traymer@jfku.edu
Mary Read, Ph.D., CSU, Fullerton mread@fullerton.edu
Michele Shepherd, M.A., San Fernando Valley CMH, Inc. mshepherd@sfvcmhc.org
Steven Tierney, Ed.D., California Institute of Integral Studies stierney@ciis.edu
Kathleen Wenger, M.A., Pepperdine University, Irvine kathleen.wenger@pepperdine.edu
 

Regional MFT Consortia

There are eight regional MFT Consortia each with a host school that provides administrative leadership. Each regional MFT Consortium represents the MFT academic programs in their area and has regular meetings facilitated by the host school. Please contact the regional host for more information on an MFT Consortium.
 

MFT Consortium of San Diego and Imperial Counties

Hosts: Julie Hayden, Psy.D. drjuliehayden@gmail.com
Linna Wang, Ph.D. lwang@alliant.edu
San Diego State University
Counties: San Diego and Imperial
Website: Click here
2016 meetings will be held on: March 4, June 3
 

MFT Consortium of Orange County

Hosts: Kathleen Wenger, M.A. kathleen.wenger@pepperdine.edu
Mary Read, Ph.D. mread@fullerton.edu
Susan Read-Weil, M.A. susanreadweil.mft@gmail.com
Pepperdine University, Irvine Campus
County: Orange
Website: Click here
2016 meetings will be held at Pepperdine University – Irvine Campus on:
January 20, March 16, May 18, July 20, September 21, and November 16
 

MFT Consortium of the Inland Empire

Hosts: Diana Herweck, Psy.D diana.herweck@phoenix.edu
University of Phoenix, Southern California Campus
Counties: Riverside and San Bernardino
2016 meetings will be held at University of Phoenix, Ontario campus on:
February 25, May 19, August 11, and December 8
 

MFT Consortium of Greater Los Angeles

Hosts: José Luis Flores, M.A. jlflores@pgu.edu
Michele Shepherd, M.A. mshepherd@sfvcmhc.org
Phillips Graduate University, Chatsworth
County: Los Angeles
2016 meetings will be held at Phillips Graduate University on:
March 4, June 10, September 9, and December 2
 

MFT Consortium of the Central Coast Region

Host: Mariela Marin, MA, LMFT - mmarin1@antioch.edu
Antioch University, Santa Barbara
Counties: Ventura, Santa Barbara and San Luis Obispo
Website: Click here
2016 meetings will be held at Antioch University, Santa Barbara on:
March 14, June 13, September 12, and December 5
 

MFT Consortium of the Central Valley

Host: DeAnna Henderson, Ph.D. DeAnna.Henderson@phoenix.edu
University of Phoenix, Fresno CA
Counties: Kern, Fresno, Inyo, Kings, Madera, Mariposa, Merced, Mono, San Joaquin, Stanislaus, Tulare, and Tuolumne
2016 meetings will be held on:
February 26, May 20, August 19, and December 9
 

MFT Consortium of the Bay Area

Hosts: Steven Tierney, Ed.D. stierney@ciis.edu
Theresa Raymer, M.S. traymer@jfku.edu
California Institute of Integral Studies
Counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Humboldt, Marin, Monterey, Napa, San Francisco, San Mateo, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Solano, Sonoma, and San Benito
2015 meetings will be held on:
February 6 at CIIS, March 27 at the Wright Institute
 

MFT Consortium of Greater Sacramento

Host: Paul Jenkins, Ph.D., Pjenkins@nu.edu
National University, Sacramento
Counties: Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, El Dorado, Lassen, Nevada, Placer, Sacramento, San
Joaquin, Shasta, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tuolumne, Yolo, and Yuba
2016 meetings will be held on:
January 29, May 6, August 5, and November 4
 

Share This Page